ZenFit Lifestyle

Living Well + Finding Balance.

Miss Independent and the 30 Day Blog Challenge Day 4

Leave a comment

I would like to begin by saying that I am proud of myself (and a bit surprised!) that I have managed to keep up with this challenge.  I know what you’re thinking…‘but it’s only day 4!!’ Well, I always have good intentions but usually something gets in my way (usually me 😉 )and I get sidetracked.  Not this time!  I am determined to get through the 30 days and make this challenge a great learning experience and a huge leap towards the life that I want.

Okay, so now onto the question du jour.  What is your definition of location independence?

Peace :)

Peace 🙂

The idea of location independence both scares me and thrills me all at the same time.  Location independence to me means that you don’t have a traditional home base.  No one place to store your toothbrush, or your broom, or your kale.  It is always changing depending on where your new location happens to be.  It means nomadic living, being a gypsy, moving, roaming, never staying.  Sounds exciting, no?  Your home/quiet place/happy space then becomes you and you alone.  Which is how it should be.

But…I have to admit I like having my home base.  Wherever that may be, I enjoy having a space that is constant and cozy and welcoming.  I’d like my home base to be near the water, surrounded by trees and the people (and fur babies) I love. I like to know where we keep the juicer and the cookbooks and the tp.

I suppose all of this is doable while being truly location independent, you could have a trailer or a super spectacular Dr. Seuss-like suitcase that unfolds into a house.  But for me, I think being 100% location independent is S.C.A.R.Y.

Having said all of this, I also think, from a business perspective, being location independent means having a business where you are able to do your work from anywhere.  You can send emails from your patio or from your yacht.  You can train clients from your kitchen, or from the beach in Hawaii.  You can keep track of your books from your bed, or around the fire at a family camping trip.

What I am trying to say is that while I don’t know that I could ever really be 100% location independent in my personal life (although I could travel.  And travel and travel and travel.) I could be business location independent.  I am almost there now with part of my business, and as I work and grow towards my ideal life, I suspect that my businesses will become more and more location independent.

Being able to stay close to my boys is the biggest draw for me.  As I sit here now while my boys are literally surrounding me (in a good way, not in a SWAT sort of way) while I work, I know this is what I want for us.  Balance and lots of time spent near each other, around each other.

30 day challenge

Author: zenfitathletics

Vegan, running addicted mom of 2 (+1 fur baby) out to inspire truth and change in the people I meet!

Leave a Reply

